ThinkTank Holds 5th All-Women Ultra Marathon

The Thinktank ultra marathoners group recently held the fifth (and last) edition of the All-Women Ultra Marathon (AWUM.) Considered the only ultra marathon designed for women, the AWUM is a true celebration of beauty, strength and womanhood. Incidentally, the event coincides with the annual International Women’s Day celebration every March. This year’s marathon focused on the theme: “Confidently beautiful in a pair of running shoes.”


The All-Women Ultra Marathon began in 2012 with only around 170 participants. Over the years, the number of participants steadily rose. This year, the number of runners reached 250. Of the total number, 115 were first-time participants. Comprising of runners from various provinces, cities, and running clubs, this year’s AWUM runners are considered the most diverse yet in the history of the event. The youngest runner in this year’s race was 17 years old. The oldest participant, a former swimmer who represented the country in the 1968 Asian Games, was 74-year old Mercedes Tatel. She finished at 10 hours and 55 minutes.

The Ultra Marathon

The All-Women Ultra Marathon is a 50-kilometer race which spans the borders of three cities. It has 4 check-point stations, hydration stations every 1 to 2 kilometers, and aid stations sponsored by running clubs in Cebu in various areas along the route. These aid stations help ensure that the experience is not only rewarding but also safe, fun, and memorable. They give out cakes, bread, fruits, drinks, candies, chocolates, energy drink, and water. They even offer massages and sponge ‘baths.’ All finishers of the race received a finisher’s medal and a finisher’s shirt. The winners received cash prizes (10,000 – First Prize / 7,000 – Second Prize / 5,000 – Third Prize.)

The race started at 10:00 pm of March 12 at the Senior Citizen’s Park behind the Cebu City Hall. It closed at 8:00 am the following day with a 10-hour cut-off at Il Corso, City di Marre at the South Road Properties.

Check out these photos from the event:

The station also offers ‘cooling’ water-soaked sponges.

Here are this year’s Top 10 Winners:

1. (209) – Sanchez, Preciosa – 04:59:44.850 (Champion)
2. (215) – Soliano, Sandra – 04:59:47.720 (1st. Runner Up)
3. (38) – Batac, Daisy – 05:04:01.460 (2nd. Runner Up)
4. (166) – Ocana, June Marq – 05:06:07.250
5. (229) – Torres, Sharon Rose – 05:22:33.320
6. (139) – Lugay, Wilma Theresa – 05:31:16.780
7. (127) – Kitane, Melchomelda – 05:33:44.240
8. (168) – Solarte, Mary Grace – 05:38:35.720
9. (240) – Velarde, Gilda – 05:38:47.110
10. (12) – Aligway, Sheila – 05:44:45.760

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *